Share: 

Zulassung 

Wessi

Wessi Benderlieva Karlhofer ist 1971 in Sofia geboren. Sie malt und zeichnet seit ihre früher Kindheit. Wessi hatte in Zeiten wirtschaftlicher Stagnation und politischer Restriktionen am renommierten Sofioter Kunstgymnasium –  das sie mit Auszeichnung absolvierte – gelernt, „dass es Dinge gibt, die uns keiner wegnehmen kann. Meine Gedanken und die Bilder, die ich in mir trage, sind unzerstörbar.“ Nur durch die Kunst konnte sie Dinge äußern, die in worten undenkbar gewesen wären.

In 1991 absolviert sie das Sofioter Gymnasium für Bildende Künste, als Diplomarbeit wird ihr erster Babelturm ausgezeichnet . Dieses Thema führt Wessi auch nach Wien, sie wird sofort an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste aufgenommen. Wessi hatte der erster Preis beim Wettbewerb „Lenzing AG“, Preisträgerin der „Datentechnik“ Wettbewerbes, Wien, in 1992 gewonnen.

Durch ein Stipendium an der Monclair State University in New Jersey bekam sie 1993 die Möglichkeit, wieder eine neue Welt zu entdecken. Sie arbeitete auch an der „National Academy of art and design“New York. Wessi lernt den Methoden der Restaurierung von Gemälden Aufnahme in der Meisterschule für Restaurierung und Konservierung an der Wiener Akademie der Bildenden Künste. Sie wurdt Mitglied der Gruppe für internationalen Realismus.

In 1996 bekammt sie ihr Diplom mit Auszeichnung für Malerei und Graphik an der Wiener Akademie der Bildenden Künste. In der folgenden Jahr sie war eingeladet in das Museum HR Giger, Schweiz zu ausstellen.

Wessi lebt und arbeitet in Wien mit ihre Familie. Viele Privatsammlungen kaufen ihr Werke an.

Quelle

DonateDonate to the Fantastic Visions project.

 

Events

Austronauten Ausstellung Viechtach

Austronauten Ausstellung Viechtach

Start: 22/06/2012
Ende: 26/08/2012
Die Stadt Viechtach im Bayerischen Wald, bekannt auch als „Zentrum der Phantastischen Kunst“ Bayerns, begrüßt in Kürze die AUSTROnauten: Künstler aus Austria und Australien, die in der Tradition der Wiener Phantasten ihren eigenen Weg gehen. Die Vernissage zu AUSTROnauten findet am Freitag, den 22. Juni 2012 um 19 Uhr im Alten Rathaus Viechtach statt.
50 Originale – Galerie 10

50 Originale – Galerie 10

Start: 30/11/2011
Ende: 31/12/2011
Galerie 10 zeigt unter dem Titel “50 Originale” Kunstwerke von Benedetto Fellin, Luigi La Speranza, Peter Gric, Christian Flora und Wessi.
Phantastenmuseum Wien in Berlin – Galerie Dikmayer Berlin

Phantastenmuseum Wien in Berlin – Galerie Dikmayer Berlin

Start: 28/10/2011
Ende: 31/12/2011
Die Wiener Schule des Phantastischen Realismus ist in Berlin wegen eine Kooperationspartnerschaft zwischen Galerie Dikmayer Berlin und das Phantastenmuseum Wien.

Zeigen weitere Veranstaltungen für Wessi

Publications

Dreams and Divinities

Dreams and Divinities

ISBN:

„Träume und Gottheiten – heilige Aussagen von Frauen, 13 Malerinnen und 8 Dichterinnen aus aller Welt“ ist ein Buch von Liba WS.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Präsentierte Peter Gric

Share: 

Other language versions  

Wessi

Wessi Benderlieva Karl Hofer was born in 1971 in Sofia, Bulgaria. She has been drawing and painting since her early childhood. Early on Wessi endured  periods of stagnation and political restrictions in the then Communist Bulgaria. She studied at the prestigious Sofia School of Fine Arts. But her greatest lesson that she learnt, in her own words was, “That there are things that no one can take from us. My thoughts and images that I carry with me are indestructible.” Only through art, she was able to express things that are not possible in thought or words.

In 1991 she graduated from the Sofia School of Fine Arts, with her thesis work, “The Tower of Bable” awarded first prize. This series took Wessi to Vienna, where she immediate admittance to the Vienna Academy of Fine Arts. Wessi won the first prize in the “Lenzing AG”, and an award in the “Datentechnik” Competition, Vienna, in 1992.

She then won a scholarship at the Montclair State University in New Jersey in 1993, where she got the chance to discover a new world. She also worked at the “National Academy of Art and Design,” New York City. Wessi later learned the painting restoration in the master classes for restoration and conservation at the Vienna Academy of Fine Arts. She became a member of the International Group for Realism.

In 1996 she graduated with honors for painting and graphics from the Vienna Academy of Fine Arts. In the following year, she was invited to exhibit at the  H.R. Giger Museum in Switzerland.

Wessi lives and works in Vienna with her ​​family. Her artworks are included in many private collections.

Source

DonateDonate to the Fantastic Visions project.

 

Events

Dreamscapes Exhibition – Alden Biesen Belgium

Start: 11/10/2014
End: 14/12/2014
On 11 October 2014 the Dreamscapes exhibition for contemprary imaginary realism will be opened at the “Landcommanderij Alden Biesen” in Bilzen, Belgium. For two months there will be about 300 works of art created by more than 70 contemporary masters, representing Imaginary Realism from all across the globe.
Austronauten Exhibition Viechtach

Austronauten Exhibition Viechtach

Start: 22/06/2012
End: 26/08/2012
The Bavarian Forest of town of Viechtach, known as the "center of the fantastic art" of Bavaria, welcomes the AUSTROnauten soon: Artists from Austria and Australia, which follow the tradition of Viennese Fantastics their own way. The opening of the AUSTROnauten exhibition takes place on Friday, 22 June 2012 at 7pm in the Alten Rathaus, Viechtach.
50 Originals – Galerie 10

50 Originals – Galerie 10

Start: 30/11/2011
End: 31/12/2011
Galerie 10 which specializes in Fantastic Realism will exhibit "50 original" works of art by Benedetto Fellin, Luigi La Speranza, Peter Gric, Christian Flora und Wessi.

View more events for Wessi

Publications

Dreams and Divinities

Dreams and Divinities

ISBN:

Dreams & Divinities – Sacred Expressions from Women 13 painters and 8 poets from around the world, is a book by Liba WS. Dreams & Divinities is a 120 page visual and poetic journey which unfolds through love, the Goddess and God, creation, nature, introspection, mythology and compassion.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Featured Artist Peter Gric